A Yummy Plain Vanilla Housewarming

This past weekend I was delighted to attend the Housewarming of Plain Vanilla Bakery in Tiong Bahru. The event was cosy, warm and laid back just like Vanessa Kenchington herself who owns this charming bakery.

PlainVanilla3

Going back in time, many of you know that I photographed Vanessa for a Hello Honey shoot and this is how I met her. She is one busy lady so we only had a small window of time in which to do the shoot. I admit that I do feel nervous at times turning up to a complete stranger’s home to photograph them. Who wouldn’t be right? There are so many things at play when I shoot. I have to consider the light, the location, small details and most importantly the subject.

So there I was climbing the stairs to Vanessa’s home (noisily hoisting up my camera bag behind me) wondering about my subject. Was she in the mood to be photographed, how had her day been going, and so on and so forth. Well, my fears were happily flung out the window (or the second floor balcony) when she opened the door and this complete stranger greeted me so warmly.

PlainVanilla11

Vanessa showed me around her beautiful apartment and we got talking – really talking about life, love, work and doing something you are passionate about. Vanessa is a trained lawyer and left a career in law behind to pursue her dreams of offering people the simple things in life by way of Plain Vanilla Bakery.  It was such a refreshing and open conversation and she spoke from the heart.

PlainVanilla7

I photographed her while we chatted and time flew! Before I knew it my hour was up as the hard working Vanessa had to make an emergency cupcake delivery.

PlainVanilla12-CupcakeInspiration

I saw her again this past weekend at the official housewarming of Plain Vanilla. It was aptly named a housewarming as there were children running around, homemade lemonade, big communal tables and a true feeling of community.

Each person was made to feel welcome and I could see how Vanessa’s hard work had translated into this beautiful space. The cupcakes on offer at the bakery are delicious and homely with a price that lets you enjoy the simple things in life without a care – the way it should be!

PlainVanilla10

I know how hard this amazing lady has worked and as you can see from my photos she has done it all while still being true to herself  and keeping a beautiful smile on her face. Hard work pays off and Vanessa’s laid back personality and friendliness comes across in Plain Vanilla Bakery as a whole. I had a blast.

Leave a Reply

